Wednesday, January 24, 2007 at 4:53 PM
Some of you have asked about the warnings we show searchers when they click on search results leading to sites that distribute malicious software. As a webmaster, you may be concerned about the possibility of your site being flagged. We want to assure you that we take your concerns very seriously, and that we are very careful to avoid flagging sites incorrectly. It's our goal to avoid sending people to sites that would compromise their computers. These exploits often result in real people losing real money. Compromised bank accounts and stolen credit card numbers are just the tip of this identity theft iceberg.
If your site has been flagged for badware, we let you know this in webmaster tools. Often, we find that webmasters aren't aware that their sites have been compromised, and this warning in search results is a surprise. Fixing a compromised site can be quite hard. Simply cleaning up the HTML files is seldom sufficient. If a rootkit has been installed, for instance, nothing short of wiping the machine and starting over may work. Even then, if the underlying security hole isn't also fixed, they may be compromised again within minutes.
We are looking at ways to provide additional information to webmasters whose sites have been flagged, while balancing our need to keep malicious site owners from hiding from Google's badware protection. We aim to be responsive to any misidentified sites too. If your site has been flagged, you'll see information on the appeals process in webmaster tools. If you can't find anything malicious on your site and believe it was misidentified, go to http://stopbadware.org/home/review to request an evaluation. If you'd like to discuss this with us or have ideas for how we can better communicate with you about it, please post in our webmaster discussion forum.
Update: this post has been updated to provide a link to the new form for requesting a review.
Update: for more information, please see our Help Center article on malware and hacked sites.
If your site has been flagged for badware, we let you know this in webmaster tools. Often, we find that webmasters aren't aware that their sites have been compromised, and this warning in search results is a surprise. Fixing a compromised site can be quite hard. Simply cleaning up the HTML files is seldom sufficient. If a rootkit has been installed, for instance, nothing short of wiping the machine and starting over may work. Even then, if the underlying security hole isn't also fixed, they may be compromised again within minutes.
We are looking at ways to provide additional information to webmasters whose sites have been flagged, while balancing our need to keep malicious site owners from hiding from Google's badware protection. We aim to be responsive to any misidentified sites too. If your site has been flagged, you'll see information on the appeals process in webmaster tools. If you can't find anything malicious on your site and believe it was misidentified, go to http://stopbadware.org/home/review to request an evaluation. If you'd like to discuss this with us or have ideas for how we can better communicate with you about it, please post in our webmaster discussion forum.
Update: this post has been updated to provide a link to the new form for requesting a review.
Update: for more information, please see our Help Center article on malware and hacked sites.


7 comments:
I made a website for a friend who is a musician: http://www.danybinia.com 2 days ago he call me "they say that my web is dangerous on google searchs!". I could realise it. So I try and I look for his web on google. Of course, by putting "dany binia" the first result was his web, but with a very explicit message on it "this site can harm your computer". So I get in touch with stopbadware by sending an email asking why they flag this web whit this alert. I did'n receive a response.
So I plug my self to the ftp and man, what a suprise! somebody has access to the index.html page on march 6th 2007 and I was'nt me (the only one with access to the ftp)....So I looke up the code and I saw a very strange line of code with a very strange script on it something like that:
"script language="JavaScript">e = '0x00' + '5F';str1 = "%E4...."
I join the host center and I ask to reset the ftp password and also I download the index file and delete the code.
I hope the reason was that, and I hope they will delete the alert sentence on the google search....but I'm still asking myself two things:
1)How could they put this and how could they access to the index file
2) do we have more malicious scripts in our website?
I think the problem was on a malicious script that somebody put on the index file, but I'm not shure.
I'ma gonna test the web on the webmaster tool.
I have delete the script, but how many days do we have to wait for not having the web flagged as mailicious?
I thank you very much for you fast response, and I'm sorry my english is very poor, I'm spanish.
judie - hackers do this very often to many sites, they hack into the hosts using ftp accounts they can steal from your pc sending you viruses through email etc... also if you use any scripts on your site CMS or any it may have holes that they wil use to run their own sripts to add any codes to your pages.
so be carefull and when you see your page changed call your host admins and they will try to find hacker
By all hi!!!
I from Russia. I am sorry for my bad English!!!
At me the question because of what events occurs increase PR of a site?
At me on a site PR-2 why so happens...
http://zarobotay.blogspot.com/
Whether it influences search???
Stupid badware!! That explain why google deleted my blog that has been running about 1 years. But can we know what kind or which html coding that we need to delete if we suspected there are badware "inside" our site???????
I want to share this, especially for all bloggers. DON'T USE PAY-ADS. They have badware in their ads script. After made some inspections, my friend and I founded weird javascripts on my deleted page at PAY-ADS banner. If you are blogger that using PAY-ADS, please remove them quickly before it will make you waste your money just for earning little dollar...
Hi everyone,
Since over a year has passed since we published this post, we're closing the comments to help us focus on the work ahead. If you still have a question or comment you'd like to discuss, free to visit and/or post your topic in our Webmaster Help Group.
Thanks and take care,
The Webmaster Central Team
Post a Comment